Zoe’s book post for 7 1/2 year olds!

Since writing the previous book post for 7 year olds we have a new slew of books which we have enjoyed either reading or on book-on-tape. We listed to books on tape on our daily commute… All the following books we read or listened to together most would be too hard for independent reading.

Here you see Zoe’s pure joy when Gina gave her her old copies on the Anne Of Green Gables Series…She is already a collector of books and would rather an old used copy that a new one!

So lets start here

Anne of Green Gables and Anne of Avonlea by LM Montgomery

I still remember 1981, my teacher in Upper 3, Mrs (Louise) Hayes Headmistress of Fairseat, fresh in from Canada reading us this book…It is one of my fondest memories of the time and I read Zoe that same copy. At first I thought that I began too soon and it would loose the magic by going over her head but in no time she had fallen for Anne Shirley and Gilbert Blythe!

“I like that Anne is always in trouble, doing silly things like dying her hair green. I also like that she thinks so much about her nose! I really like Paul Irving best…he is one of the boys that Anne teaches when she is a school teacher in Avonlea, he seems like a really fun kid!’

Black Beauty By Anna SewellEvery girl loves a story about a horse right! We are deep in our horse love at present! Set in Victorian London, Historical Fiction.

“This is a sad book but I like that there is a happy ending, that the end of his life is calm. I also liked learning about the life of a horse long ago but this was too sad!”

Where the Mountain Meets the Moon by Grace Lin

“My favorite part of this book is the selflessness of Minli” (I changed her words here as it was too much of a spoiler! Chinese folk tales meet land of Oz adventures…Great new book! Excitement, danger, magic, greed, kindness..

Harry Potter and the Sorcerers Stone By J. K. Rowlings. Has it been 10 years already! Of course this magical story was an instant hit and she wanted to race through the series. After some negotiating we decided to read one every 6 months! so the next book awaits us as soon as school is done for the summer. The story of Harry Potter has led to much magical play and even some lego excitement and play, naturally she is dying to get the Hogwarts Express set!

“I liked Dumbledore as I imagine him to be short and plump. I like everything about the invisibility cloak! and the owl mail. It was a great adventure…I wish I went to Hogwarts!”

Kaya by Janet Shaw. Kaya is one of the Historical Fiction American Girl Dolls, A Nez Perce girl in 1764. Another great choice for the horse lover!

“I like that Kaya always learns the lesson. Sometimes she makes a mistake but always learns from it. I also like how she lives and that she has a horse. She is also a good friend”

The Midwives Apprentice by Karen Cushman

Sarah Plain and Tall by Patricia Maclachlan

The Chronicals of Narnia by C.S. Lewis, so far we have read the Magicians Nephew, The Lion Witch and the Wardrobe, The Horse and His Boy. We are about to start on Prince Caspian

At school her teacher Dan is reading aloud another all time favorite of mine, The Birch Bark House by Louise Erdrich. We listened to this one on tape last december as we were driving to Arizona and I thought to myself that it needs to be read again so that she gets a chance to pick up all that she missed little did I know that it would be read in class! It is a must read for all in the category of historical fiction, the daily life of 7-year-old Ojibwa girl Omakayas, or Little Frog, in 1847 on an island on Lake Superior. Great intro to understanding native life.

One thought on “Zoe’s book post for 7 1/2 year olds!”

Leave a Reply

