Prayer Shawls/Healing

The idea came to me when I realized I needed to keep my hands busy and my energy focussed while sending prayers of love and healing to my dear friend Pat who needs our support. I was looking for a creative way to include all the others who are also sending their healing blessings her way. I thought of a lap blanket, a set of prayer flags (next project in the prayers for Pat series) but for now a Prayer Shawl that we can infuse with blessings, prayers, love and warmth and eventually she can wrap herself in and surround her self in the support of her loving friends.

Here is where you all come in,  if you would like to add anything to the making of this shawl, a prayer, a bead, a ribbon, some yarn, please go ahead and mail it to me and I will be happy to add it to this project. (Please email if you need my  mailing address.)

One of my New Years Resolution was to become a  better knitter! I love yarn. I can knit and purl, cast on cast off, increase, decrease, knit a hat, make simple legwarmers, knit a very basic sweater but put a pattern in front of me and I am lost and confused. I have a few patterns saved over at Ravelry and have decided that this will be the year. So Project #1 Pats Healing Shawl!

Healing Blessing for the Healing Journeys

Help us to keep the vigil for healing

in sacred space and holy time.

We give thanks for those whose gifts and training

empower them to care for the body;

nurses, doctors, physical and respiratory therapists,

those who prepare food and clean rooms,

those who care at the bedside and behind the scenes.

Bless all family members and friends who keep the vigil

in prayer in waiting rooms and hospital corridors.

Grant them your peace.

We are all in need of your healing presence

each day of our lives.

Help us to watch, wait, and listen for your blessings in the midst of our healing journeys.

© 1996. Reverend Susan Copeland

 


And for George:

Comforting Blessing

May you see the light in the darkness during these challenging times.

May you feel the loving presence of those who hold you in their thoughts and prayers.

May your spirit find what it needs to sustain you on this journey.

May you discover your inner strength and face all difficulties with dignity and grace.

May you be filled with comfort, love, strength, grace and a lasting sense of peace.

© 2005. Kirsti A. Dyer MD, MS, FT


Also sending love to Pat and George’s Girls!!

When I can up with the idea I thought it was original, funny that, then I went to Webs our fabulous yarn store in Northampton, and there I found several books on Prayer Shawls!  There are many reasons that you can knit a prayer shawl, here are some;

– for someone who is undergoing serious medical procedures or cancer treatments
– for someone who has experienced a loss
– for someone who is going into a meditation or silent retreat
– for someone who is giving birth or nursing a baby
– for someone who is nurturing an ill child

Have you ever knit a prayer shawl? If so please share your experience.

 

Leave a Reply

